REGION 14. UPPER RIO GRANDE FLOOD PLANNING GROUP

PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, June 21, 2023

9:00 AM (MDT)

8037 Lockheed, Suite 100 TX 79925

Voting Member	Interest Category	L	Present (√)/Abser	t (X) / Alternate Present (√)
Omar L. Martinez, Chair	Water Districts	Water Districts		✓
Zhuping Sheng	Agricultural Inter	Agricultural Interests		Χ
Gilberto Saldaña Jr.	Counties			✓
Jeff Bennett	Environmental In	Environmental Interests		✓
Sal Masoud	Industries		✓	
Javier Acosta	Municipalities	unicipalities		✓
David "Dave" Hall	Public	✓		✓
Rene Rodriguez	Small Business		X	
Gisela Dagnino	Water Utilities		✓	
Vacant	Flood Districts			
Levi Bryand	Water Utilities		✓	
Rick Tate	River Authorities		X	
Carlos Velarde	Public		\checkmark	
Non-voting Member	Agency			Present(x)/Absent()/ Alternate Present (*)
James Weaver	Texas Parks and Wildlife Department		X	
Elijah Casas	General Land Office/Region 14 Liaison			
		ice/ Region 14	Liaison	✓
Megan Ingram	Texas Water Dev			√ √
Megan Ingram Anita Keese		elopment Boa	rd	
	Texas Water Dev	elopment Boar on on Environm	rd	✓
Anita Keese	Texas Water Dev Texas Commissio	elopment Boar on on Environm	rd nental Quality	√ X
Anita Keese Vanessa Rosales-Herrera	Texas Water Dev Texas Commissio Region 15 Liaisor	elopment Boar on on Environm n undary Water (rd nental Quality Commission	X X
Anita Keese Vanessa Rosales-Herrera Dr. Apurba Borah	Texas Water Dev Texas Commissio Region 15 Liaisor International Bou	elopment Boar on on Environm n undary Water (Emergency Ma	nental Quality Commission anagement	√ X X X
Anita Keese Vanessa Rosales-Herrera Dr. Apurba Borah Georgina Gonzalez	Texas Water Dev Texas Commissio Region 15 Liaisor International Bou Texas Division of	elopment Boar on on Environm n undary Water (Emergency Ma nt of Agricultur	nental Quality Commission anagement	✓ X X X
Anita Keese Vanessa Rosales-Herrera Dr. Apurba Borah Georgina Gonzalez JD Lawrence	Texas Water Dev Texas Commissio Region 15 Liaison International Bou Texas Division of Texas Departmen	elopment Boar on on Environm n undary Water (Emergency Ma nt of Agricultur	nental Quality Commission anagement	X X X X X
Anita Keese Vanessa Rosales-Herrera Dr. Apurba Borah Georgina Gonzalez JD Lawrence Judy Albus	Texas Water Dev Texas Commissio Region 15 Liaisor International Bou Texas Division of Texas Departmen Texas State Soil a	elopment Boar on on Environm n undary Water (Emergency Ma nt of Agricultur	commission anagement re servation Board	X X X X X
Anita Keese Vanessa Rosales-Herrera Dr. Apurba Borah Georgina Gonzalez JD Lawrence Judy Albus Others Present:	Texas Water Dev Texas Commissio Region 15 Liaisor International Bou Texas Division of Texas Departmen Texas State Soil a	elopment Boar on on Environm undary Water (Emergency Ma nt of Agricultur	commission anagement re servation Board	X X X X X

1. Welcome and call to order Chairman Omar Martinez received confirmation that a quorum was present.

2. Public Comments

Chairman Martinez asked if there were any public comments from the public. There were none.

3. Review and approve the minutes of the meeting held on June 7, 2023

Jeff Bennett made a motion to approve the Minutes from June 7, 2023. Gilbert Saldana seconded the motion. Chairman Martinez called for a vote and the motion was approved.

- 4. TWDB Updates from Megan Ingram
 Megan Ingram provided an update on activities from TWDB.
- 5. New task budget for Administrative expenses No action was taken on this agenda item.
- 6. Terms of office for voting members to serve for additional years

Six members drew terms that will end on January, 2025 and six members drew terms that end January, 2028

- 1. January, 2025 Omar L. Martinez Water Districts
- 2. January, 2025 Carlos Arturo Velarde Fernandez Public
- 3. January, 2025 Gisela Dagnino Water Utilities
- 4. January, 2025 Jeff Bennett Environmental Interests
- 5. January, 2025 Rene Rodriguez Small Business
- 6. January, 2025 Vacant Electric Generating Utilities
- 7. January, 2028 Dr. Zhuping Sheng Agricultural Interests
- 8. January, 2028 David "Dave" Hall Public
- 9. January, 2028 Gilberto Saldana Jr. Counties
- 10. January, 2028 Javier Acosta Municipalities
- 11. January, 2028 Levi Bryand Water Utilities
- 12. January, 2028 Sal Masoud Industries
- 7. Approve an additional member at large for the Executive Committee once Bylaws are amended

No action was taken on this action item.

8. General RFP Updates

AECOM provided updates to the Flood Planning Group.

9. Discussion and action to vote for adoption of the Amended Regional Flood Plan as presented by AECOM with Authorization of Consultant/Sponsor to make edits finalizing responses to comments submitted by the Public and Voting Members and to submit the Amended Regional Flood Plan to TWDB by July 14th, 2023 Dave Hall made a motion to adopt the Amended Regional Flood Plan as presented by AECOM with the authorization of Consultant/Sponsor to make edits finalizing responses to comments submitted by the Public and Voting members and to submit the Amended Regional Plan to TWDB by 14th, 2023. Omar Martinez seconded the motion. Chairman Martinez called for a vote and the motion was approved.

10. Consideration for the 2nd cycle of regional flood planning:

 Designate a Planning Group Sponsor to administer the Region 14 Upper Rio Grande Regional Flood Planning Group for the 2nd cycle of Regional Flood Planning

Omar Martinez made a motion to designate the Rio Grande Council of Governments to administer the Region 14 Upper Rio Grande Regional Flood Planning Group for the 2nd cycle of Regional Flood Planning. Levi Bryand second the motion. Chairman Martinez called for a vote and the motion was approved.

 Authorize the Upper Rio Grande Regional Flood Planning Group Sponsor to solicit Technical Consultants for the 2nd cycle of Regional Flood Planning
 Jeff Bennett made a motion to authorize the Rio Grande Council of Governments to solicit Technical Consultants for the 2nd cycle of Regional Flood Planning. Levi Bryand second the motion. Chairman Martinez called for a vote and the motion was approved.

11. Adjourn

Jeff Bennett made a motion to adjourn. Gisela Dagnino seconded the motion. Chairman Martinez called for a vote and the motion was approved.

Javier Acosta, Secretary

Date